146 High St., Southampton, ON
For reservations please call 519-797-2772
Opens at 11:30 am daily • email@example.com • 146 High St., Southampton, ON • Please call regarding events and ask us about a set menu, hors d’oeuvres, or buffet. We have the right space for you. Reservations accepted from mid Oct. – early Apr.
Welcome to the Walker House
The Walker House, originally known as the Royal Hotel, was built in 1852 and was one of the first structures erected in Southampton. In 1867 it became the Masonic Arms, and then the Central Hotel in 1904 when the North Wing (now bar) was added. The Walker House earned its name in 1915 when Robert and Helen Walker purchased the building. Known for its comfort food and family style cooking, on weekend nights chairs were moved to accommodate residents as the Walker House was the popular meeting place in Southampton.
Slowly, the hotel transitioned into a restaurant in 1936 when it became licensed to sell alcoholic beverages. In that time, a bar was built and split in half for a separate men’s and women’s section. Later, in 1952, the West Wing was built, now spacious location utilized for large events and meetings, such as the annual Rotary Auction and Propeller Club meetings. The upholding of traditions has kept the Walker House in Southampton since 1915.
Please come and visit us at the Walker House and experience why it has been a popular meeting place for 100 years.